Stories of Minsk Province

Minsk Province


Minsk Voblast (Province) or Minsk Oblast (Belarusian: Мі́нская во́бласць; Russian: Минская о́бласть; Minskaya Oblast) is a province (voblast) of Belarus with its administrative center being Minsk, although still being a separate administrative subdivision of Belarus. As of 2004, the voblast’s population is 1,503,000, which comprises 15.3% of the national total.

Minsk (Belarusian: Мiнск, pronounced [mʲinsk]; Russian: Минск, [mʲinsk]) is the capital and largest city in Belarus, situated on the Svislach and Niamiha rivers. Minsk is also a headquarters of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). As the national capital, Minsk has a special administrative status in Belarus and is also the administrative centre of Minsk voblast (province) and Minsk raion (district). It has a population of 1,837,000 inhabitants (2009).

The earliest references to Minsk date to the 11th century (1067), when it was a provincial city within the principality of Polotsk. In 1242, Minsk became a part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, and it received its town privileges in 1499. From 1569, it was a capital of the Minsk Voivodship in the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. It was annexed by Russia in 1793, as a consequence of the Second Partition of Poland. From 1919–1991, Minsk was the capital of the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic.